Fragmented Opposition

A few moments ago I saw a tweet asking me to sign a petition to force a debate in the British parliament on ACTA, a piece of legislation rather in the same vein as SOPA and PIPA which will require ISPs to ‘police’ and be responsible for how their customers use the internet. Terrible paraphrase aside, I took a look at it and signed the petition; of course, I mostly want the internet to stay the way it is at present, though maybe with less Google everywhere.

Two minutes later I return to twitter. The same person who tweeted this original petition has retweeted someone’s reply to him, pointing out a petition on the same thing, with three times as many signatures.
Bugger.
I’ve just filled in all my details to sign the other one!
It’s not too much to simply do it again and sign the larger petition, is it?
Not to me, but to more than a few people I know, it is. So we have (at least) two petitions on an important piece of legislation which are on the same subject, but will be considered separately, dividing the number of signatures and slowing down the time it will take to reach parliament.

More could be made of this, particularly in an international perspective, but just for reference, if you live in the UK, this is the petition I would like you to sign!

http://epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/20685

In particular, if this is true:
” In the name of trademarks and patents, it would also hamper access to generic medicines in poor countries.”

Leave a Reply

